Sep 04

2009 is No. 6 Most Offensive Team in Reitz Football history

dec 18, 2009 1351

From left to right: Jeff Fentress, Mike Clem, Tony Ewers and Jeff Hudson proudly display their 2009 state championship trophy

Editor’s note: 2014 knocked 2009 down to No. 7 on the all-time list

Sitting at No. 6 on “The Top 10 Most Offensive Teams in Reitz Football History” are the 2009 Panthers. This year saw Reitz, which won its second state title in three years, outscore her opponents 572-130, averaging 38.13 points per game en route to a perfect 15-0 season.

Tony Lewis‘ 2009 squad featured several outstanding players, five of whom would be named all-state (Mike Clem, Tony Ewers, Jeff Hudson, Brandon Kemp & Matt McIntosh). McIntosh, recently named the starting quarterback for Northern Illinois, was also selected as the Evansville Courier & Press All-Metro Player of the Year for 2009 (he would again win the honor in 2010 and also be selected Gatorade Football Player of the Year).

In addition to the state title, the Panthers also won Semi-State, Regional, Sectional, SIAC, City & West Side Nut Club championships.

Links of interest

Share this with your friendsShare on Facebook0Tweet about this on Twitter

Leave a Reply