Sep 18

2007 is No. 5 Most Offensive Team in Reitz Football history


Reitz celebrates their 34-0 shutout victory over Mater Dei, earning them the West Side Nut Club Trophy

The 2007 Panthers are No. 5 on “The Top 10 Most Offensive Teams in Reitz Football History.” That year’s team would win the school’s first state football championship in 36 years, and its first since the IHSAA implemented the playoffs.

They also gave the school its first 15-0 season, scoring more points than any other team in Reitz Football history, and outscored her opponents 597-223 while averaging 39.8 points per game.

John Hart’s 2007 squad featured several outstanding players, five of whom would be named all-state (Craig Austin, Zach Campbell, Chris Deig, Tyler Mattingly, Paul McIntoch). McIntosh, was also selected as the Evansville Courier & Press All-Metro Player of the Year, the Indianapolis Star’s Mr. Football and the Gatorade Football Indiana Player of the Year.

In addition to the state title, the Panthers also won Semi-State, Regional, Sectional, SIAC, City & West Side Nut Club championships.

Links of interest

Share this with your friendsShare on Facebook0Tweet about this on Twitter

1 ping

  1. […] With 589 total points, they were only eight behind 2007’s team that scored the most points in a single season in school history. […]

Leave a Reply